1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. DUI
  4.  » What are the consequences for a first DUI offense in Georgia?

What are the consequences for a first DUI offense in Georgia?

On Behalf of | Jun 9, 2023 | DUI |

If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI in Georgia, you may be concerned about the possible consequences you will face if you are convicted. And you should be. The consequences of a DUI conviction can have a long-term impact on your life in many ways you might not expect.

Generally, the severity of the consequences depends on several factors including the number of prior convictions on your record and whether you caused the death of another person. However, even first-time offenders with no aggravating factors will still face serious consequences.

First DUI offense (within 10 years of previous convictions)

First-time offenders ages 21 and older will likely face various legal consequences. These consequences may include:

  • Jail time ranging from 24 hours to 12 months
  • Fines from $300 to $1,000
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • Probation of 12 months, minus time spent in jail
  • Drug/alcohol counseling/clinical evaluation for substance abuse

License suspension for first DUI offense (within five years of previous conviction)

In addition to the above consequences, you will also have your driver’s license suspended. If this is your first offense within five years, you will have your license suspended for 12 months. However, you may be eligible for a limited permit and early license reinstatement after 120 days if you pay a reinstatement fee and complete a drug and alcohol abuse program.

In addition to the legal penalties listed above, you may also face additional consequences in your personal and professional life. A DUI conviction can negatively impact your employment, insurance rates, education, ability to travel, immigration status, and reputation. An effective DUI defense strategy can save you from having to face these consequences.