Like every state in the nation, Georgia has strict laws against drunk driving. There are many potential consequences of driving while under the influence, including losing your license, hefty fines, and jail time.
An additional consequence of driving under the influence in Georgia is needing to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. The state of Georgia may require convicted drivers (dependent on the circumstances) to install an ignition interlock device on their second offense.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device is essentially a breathalyzer in your car. The device will prevent anybody from starting the vehicle unless they first breathe into the IID while sober. The ignition interlock device will then measure how much alcohol is on the driver’s breath. If the device detects even minute traces of alcohol, the car will not start.
Additionally, while the car is in operation, the device will occasionally require the driver to breathe into it to prove that there is still no alcohol on your breath. Ignition interlock devices have significantly cut down on repeat DUI offenses.
Can I get an ignition interlock device on my first offense?
The state of Georgia does not require the installation of an IID upon a driver’s first offense. However, first-time offenders may request to install an IID rather than file for a license suspension appeal.
You may choose to do this if you must get your driving rights back soon, as filing for an appeal can take up to 30 days. Agreeing to install an ignition interlock device is more or less immediate. If you choose to do this, you must have the device installed in your car for 12 months.